Rachael Hamilton of the Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party has been elected as the MSP for the Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire Constituency.

The total number of votes cast was 36,122. The turnout was 64%.

The total number of votes polled for each candidate was as follows:

Ian Davidson, Scottish Labour Party and Scottish Co-operative Party – 2,050
Rachael Hamilton, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party – 18,564
Barbra Harvie, Scottish Green Party – 1,084
Jenny Claire Marr, Scottish Liberal Democrats – 2,352
Jesse Rae, Independent – 290
Paul Wheelhouse, Scottish National Party (SNP) – 11,701

The number of ballot papers rejected was 81.

The count took place today at Borders Event Centre, Kelso.

Netta Meadows, Constituency Returning Officer, said: “I’d like to thank all those involved in the planning for this election and of course the staff who assisted in opening postal votes over the past week, those counting votes today and the staff who worked in polling stations throughout the constituency yesterday.”