John Lamont of the Scottish Conservative and Unionist has been elected as the MP for Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk County Constituency at the General Election.

The total number of votes cast was 46,696. The turnout was 61.1%. The total number of votes polled for each candidate was as follows:

Ray Georgeson, Liberal Democrats – 3,686
Hamish Goldie-Scot, Scottish Family Party – 221
Carolyn Grant, Reform UK – 3,340
John Robert Lamont, Scottish Conservatives and Unionist – 18,872
Neil MacKinnon, Scottish Green Party – 1,526
Ellie Merton, Independent – 329
Caitlin Stott, Scottish Labour Party – 6,311
David James Wilson, Scottish National Party (SNP) – 12,273

The majority was 6,599. The number of ballot papers rejected and not counted was 138.

The count took place overnight at Borders Events Centre, Springwood Park, Kelso. David Robertson, Returning Officer said: “I’d like to thank all the staff who made sure that the election in this constituency ran efficiently and accurately, both at polling stations across the area and at the count centre.”